Flying High

February 1, 2011

A friend of mine asked me to write a poem about a falcon that flies high in the sky.  I think I know what he wants me to write about.  It is that when we are doing what we are meant to do, we feel God’s pleasure, like in Chariots of Fire.  I’m having difficulty writing it because this was an emotion, state of being that I haven’t felt for a long time.  The last time I can remember feeling this was when I was eating McDonald’s in my car with one of my youth kid past midnight, reminding him of the Gospel.  Good times.  I will try to write this poem anyway.

These wings can ward me from the winds,
Providing comfort, warmth in storms
But they were meant for so much more,
for they can help me fly and soar.

These wings repel the fiercest flings,
Protecting my entire being,
But with them, I’ll do so much more,
for they will help me fly and soar.

These wings outstretched do praises bring
for strength they show, and tempt a sin
to think, that there is naught within,
when I was made to fly and soar.

Perhaps I’ll fly to distant shores,
explore the lands not seen before.
Fly oh so high, for something more,
up on the sky, I’ll fly and soar.

Leave a Reply

