Old Hymns and Loving Our Enemies

January 24, 2011

There are certain hymns that brings me to tears.  They remind me of God’s grace and love, of the fact that i am utterly undeserving of what He has given me and yet He freely pours out His boundless love…. and the great thing about these old hymns are that they are so packed full of theology that they give you much to think about even while you sing.  One of these hymns is called “Jesus Paid it All”:

I hear the Savior say
Thy strength indeed is small
Child of weakness….watch and pray
Find in me….thine all in all

Chorus:
Jesus paid it all
All to Him I owe
Sin hath left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow

Lord, now indeed I find
Thy power and Thine alone
Can change the leper’s spots
And melt the heart of stone

For nothing good have I
Whereby Thy grace to claim
I’ll wash my garments white
In the blood of Calvary’s Lamb

And when before thy throne
I stand in Him complete
Jesus died my soul to save
My lips shall still repeat

I love how there is sense of progression of the Christian faith reflected through the verses.  And the emotions evoked are slightly different each time we sing the chorus, from tears of repentance to shouts of joy.  We sang this song at our church this past Sunday. and it was awesome. Then we heard a sermon about Loving Our Enemies, and the last point was that we get the resources to love our enemies through the cross.  As I read over these words of this hymn, this fact becomes so self evident. We get this emotional resource as we think about God’s love for us.  His love softens our hearts and attitudes towards others.

Loved people can love others. We are loved.

Leave a Reply

