An old sonnet from way back when

December 5, 2010

I have not updated in a while. Since I don’t have time to write a new poem, I shall post a poem I wrote a while back (before this blog came into being!) While most of those poems were intolerably sappy, I thought the following would be of some interest to random strangers who may visit my site, on the account that it was written during the time I was reading The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis (and hence the entirely too unimaginative if functional title…). Perhaps if you haven’t read that classic illuminating work on love, this poem will spur you to read it. (or The Great Divorce, which is like a fictional version of it…)

The Four Loves, Chapter 2

Perchance you see when walking down a street
A person that resembles what I’ve been
Don’t hesitate to stop him at his feet
And ask him how he’s feeling deep within

Perchance you’re at a park one afternoon
And see a lonely figure on a swing
who’s teary eyes betray his cheerful tune,
remind him of the greater, grander things.

Perchance you see an opportunity
to love someone who truly loves you back
then woe to you if you refuse to see
that happiness is knocking where you’re at.

Though sadness sweeps my needy selfish heart
I’m grateful having known just who you are.

Okay after reading that again, I really hate the last two lines… i shall revise it someday. for now, back to work. 😛

Leave a Reply

