Walls of Jericho

October 3, 2010

You march around my city walls,
You tease me with your promises
That soon you’ll make it crumble, fall
Yet there you go, there you go…

You sound your horns and loudly call.
You’ve spied my heart’s deep recesses.
You know me well so have it all.
Yet there you go, there you go…

You must have waited just to hear
That all the barriers you faced
Could never separate us, dear,
Yet there you go, there you go….

You crossed the rivers to be here,
I’ve built this wall for you to waste,
So you could conquer and be near.
And let my scarlet rope of grace
My heart’s entire surrender bare…
But wait until we have a face.
So there you go, there you go…

Totally not a love poem…. So there!

Leave a Reply

