Be the change you want to see in this world

September 29, 2010

This is a very simple yet powerful quote from one of the greatest men to have lived, Ghandi. It inspires me every time I read it. I somehow forget about myself and can finally concentrate on others. And yet when I try to ‘be the change’, I am inevitably disappointed and discouraged by my own failures and limitations. I focus on myself and lose sight of others. This cycle is inevitable and I am powerless to change it.

So how can I actually “be the change”? Is it by learning from other great men, and following their example? Learning fits into the equation somehow, but it can’t be the only thing. The hearts of educated men remain just as tainted as the hearts of the uneducated men. The educated men just have increased capacity to practice their depravity…. Learning the moral percepts can only show my wretchedness. It cannot help me to actually change. Consider the above quote as an imperative: “Be the change!” When we try to fulfill it, we prove to be unable to do so.

So what then can help us at this point? The answer is grace. Be the change, because He has changed you. Be the change, because He is changing the world. Be the change, because He who began a good work will carry it on to completion. Here then is the power; here then is the hope.

Outside of this Christian understanding of grace, an honest examination of any attempt to change the world will result in inevitable pessimism.

One Response to “Be the change you want to see in this world”

  1. Ben Lim Says:

    Thank you


Leave a Reply

