Holy Sonnet

May 5, 2010

How fast are spent the lonely years of youth
that pass into the dusk of coming dark.
How far away are echoes of the truth
that you despise with fullness of your heart.

For having known yourself that pleasure in
the world and everything that it reveals,
you hate yourself, for loving mire of sin,
full knowing my decrees and sovereign will.

But when I look at you, I see a soul
infinitely more precious than the sum
of all of universe, for there’s a hole
inside your heart where you and I are one.

Oh don’t you know that you are not alone.
In you my kingdom come, my will be done.

Leave a Reply

