A Declaration

January 1, 2010

This is a Declaration of War.
War upon all my sinful desires and habits,
the indwelling, hideous nature that
is dead, and yet must constantly
be put to death, everyday.

This is a Declaration of Peace.
Peace between myself and Shalom,
and between myself and my neighbors.
Peace that is more than the absence
of conflict, but a presence of Love.

This is a Declaration of Independence.
Of freedom from my old counterfeit life
that led to death, that enslaved me
through false promises of pleasures ever-more
that kept me from doing the things I wanted to do.

This is a Declaration of Helplessness
For I have nothing within me that can save me
and I am not healthy but sick in need of a Doctor,
that again and again I must come back to the point
from which I started, beneath Your bloodied feet.

This is a Declaration that this year
will be filled with ceaseless prayers,
of faithful service, and of joyful giving.
That this year, I conform no longer,
but know Your will by renewing of my mind.

Leave a Reply

