When half-awakened

December 15, 2009

When half-awakened, seeing them walk as trees,
I cannot recognize the block inside my eyes.
The sins in others obviously seen,
yet I am blinded when it’s in my life.

When half-asleep, I cannot help but think
and do the things I do not wish to do.
Into the deeper waters do I sink,
and all the while forgetting what is true.

But when the light is shone upon my heart
convicting me of all the ugly mess
Yet on the cross, behold the man whose scars
have proved the love of God, and conquered death.

Awake my soul, to undeniable truth!
The holy, pleasing life be in pursuit.

Leave a Reply

