Happiness

June 21, 2009

The moments in which I know that I’m most alive, are during Sunday mornings when I am worshiping the Father with my brothers and sisters. The moments in which I am most content and happy are when I am discuss theology with others. Doesn’t this mean that I should go into full time ministry in order to be most happy, even if my parents oppose the idea?

I’ve always looked up to my parents for their wisdom. They’ve lived longer and gone through a lot more in their lives. They haven’t led an easy life by any stretch of the imagination.  And so when they say things like “The most important thing in life is to be financially stable.” (in Korean of course), i understand where they’re coming from. But doesn’t this conclusion require the premise that this life is all there is, that there is no life after death? For if our souls are eternal, if we are immortal beings, worrying about what we will eat and drink tomorrow seem like the worries of pagans.   Not that it’s bad to have material possessions.  But if God is willing to give us Himself through His own Son, how much more will our heavenly Father provide for us everything else that we need?

The sermon today was from a passage in Haggai 1, where the Israelite were trying to rebuild the temple after their return from the Babylonian captivity.

5 Now this is what the LORD Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways. 6 You have planted much, but have harvested little. You eat, but never have enough. You drink, but never have your fill. You put on clothes, but are not warm. You earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it.”

This is NOT saying that we can never physically satisfy our hunger, thirst, or never be physically warm, or save up money.  But when we have put our treasures in things of this earth, if we let the second things become the first things, all these things that are good in and of themselves, will never satisfy us or give us security or peace of mind.

It’d be so much easier if the clouds would part and a beam of light would blind me or a voice tells me what to do. I love my parents – i don’t want to do anything that opposes them. But what must I do when I do not know for sure?

Leave a Reply

