Walls of Jericho

June 15, 2009

With the look of a victor you walk around
the thick, high walls, with a terrible sound.
With each syllable, each note, each vibration,
the wall sways in a sudden motion.

It keeps crumbling down, and I can’t stop it.
When you’re near me, I can’t help it.

Naked and wretched I stand, exposed to all,
and then you run off, awaiting my fall.
Come and conquer me, I’m all but taken.
Unless it is you who must be awakened.

The tears keep falling down, and I can’t stop it.
When you’re away, and I can’t help it.

You say it was a mistake, that I was but a city
of Ai, that you did not mean to so readily break me.
Then shall I lie in the ruins? Wait for some bandit?
Be left to die? Will you leave me here abandoned?

The wall may fall down, but I must rebuild it.
No one shall again break it, not if I can help it.

Leave a Reply

