For which imperfect deed that I have done

March 26, 2009

For which imperfect deed that I have done
am I your presence now being kindly graced?
Have I defended countless, helpless wronged,
or firmly stood when opposition faced?

I cannot think a single act that could
be said to have, in both where heart’s involved
and outcome, lacking everything it should
contain to be the perfect act of love.

Yet things are given freely with no cost
for having little value of being owned,
Or else the worth is such that all is lost,
Upon attempt to pay for being bestowed.

For what could compensate your nearness? Mine
is trembling heart; to you am I resigned.

Leave a Reply

